Agatha Christie Poirot book collection

Agatha Christie Poirot book collection

In this post I want to recommend the series created by Agatha Christie Of Poirot book, collection of 47 books about an eccentric and smart Belgian detective.

Who was Agatha Christie?

Agatha Christie, in full Dame Agatha Mary Clarissa Christie, née Miller, (born September 15, 1890, Torquay, Devon, England—died January 12, 1976, Wallingford, Oxfordshire), English detective novelist and playwright whose books have sold more than 100 million copies and have been translated into some 100 languages.

Agatha Christie surrounded by books
Agatha Christie surrounded by books

The beginning

Educated at home by her mother, Christie began writing detective fiction while working as a nurse during World War I. Her first novel, The Mysterious Affair at Styles (1920), introduced Hercule Poirot, her eccentric and egotistic Belgian detective; Poirot reappeared in about 25 novels and many short stories before returning to Styles, where, in Curtain (1975), he died. The elderly spinster Miss Jane Marple, her other principal detective figure, first appeared in Murder at the Vicarage (1930). Christie’s first major recognition came with The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (1926), which was followed by some 75 novels that usually made best-seller lists and were serialized in popular magazines in England and the United States.

Middle age

Christie’s plays include The Mousetrap (1952), which set a world record for the longest continuous run at one theatre (8,862 performances—more than 21 years—at the Ambassadors Theatre, London) and then moved to another theatre, and Witness for the Prosecution (1953), which, like many of her works, was adapted into a successful film (1957). Other notable film adaptations include Murder on the Orient Express (1933; film 1974 and 2017) and Death on the Nile (1937; film 1978). Her works were also adapted for television.

Getting married

In 1926 Christie’s mother died, and her husband, Colonel Archibald Christie, requested a divorce. In a move she never fully explained, Christie disappeared and, after several highly publicized days, was discovered registered in a hotel under the name of the woman her husband wished to marry. In 1930 Christie married the archaeologist Sir Max Mallowan; thereafter she spent several months each year on expeditions in Iraq and Syria with him. She also wrote romantic nondetective novels, such as Absent in the Spring (1944), under the pseudonym Mary Westmacott. Her Autobiography (1977) appeared posthumously. She was created a Dame of the British Empire in 1971.

Poirot books

N.TitleYear of publication
1The Mysterious Affair at Styles1920
2The Murder on the Links1923
3Poirot Investigates (short stories)1924
4The Murder of Roger Ackroyd1926
5The Big Four1927
6The Mystery of the Blue Train1928
7Black Coffee1930 play
1998 novel adapted from play published
8Peril at End House1932
9Lord Edgware Dies also published as Thirteen at Dinner1933
10Murder on the Orient Express also published as Murder in the Calais Coach1934
11Three Act Tragedy also published as Murder in Three Acts1935
12Death in the Clouds also published as Death in the Air1935
13The A.B.C. Murders also published as The Alphabet Murders1936
14Murder in Mesopotamia1936
15Cards on the Table1936
16Dumb Witness also published as Poirot Loses a Client1937
17Death on the Nile also published as Murder on the Nile and as Hidden Horizon1937
18Murder in the Mews also published as Dead Man’s Mirror1937
19Appointment with Death1938
20Hercule Poirot’s Christmas also published as Murder for Christmas and as A Holiday for Murder1938
21The Regatta Mystery and Other Stories1939
22Sad Cypress1940
23One, Two, Buckle My Shoe also published as An Overdose of Death and as The Patriotic Murders1940
24Evil Under the Sun1941
25Five Little Pigs also published as Murder in Retrospect1942
26The Hollow also published as Murder after Hours1946
27The Labours of Hercules1947
28The Witness for the Prosecution and Other Stories1948
29Taken at the Flood also published as There Is a Tide1948
30Three Blind Mice and Other Stories1950
31The Under Dog and Other Stories1951
32Mrs McGinty’s Dead also published as Blood Will Tell1952
33After the Funeral also published as Funerals are Fatal1953
34Hickory Dickory Dock also published as Hickory Dickory Death1955
35Dead Man’s Folly1956
36Cat Among the Pigeons1959
37The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding1960
38Double Sin and Other Stories1961
39The Clocks1963
40Third Girl1966
41Hallowe’en Party1969
42Elephants Can Remember1972
43Poirot’s Early Cases1974
44Curtain written about 19401975
45Problem at Pollensa Bay and Other Stories1991
46The Harlequin Tea Set1997
47While the Light Lasts and Other Stories1997


So, this is the Agatha Christie Poirot book collection with the links to Amazon. If you want to help local bookshops, use our book library.

Leave a comment

Send a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *